Wednesday, June 12, 2024


Cool Nutz Releases His 14th Studio Album “Failure Is The Feeling”

Portland rap pioneer Cool Nutz returns with the official release of his new album Failure Is The Feeling, available now on Apple Music, Spotify, Tidal, and more.

His 14th studio album, Cool Nutz calls on features from Mitchy Slick, Jay Worthy, Mic Crenshaw, Dboi LTD, Bosko, Maniac Lok, Swiggle Mandela, Jasey Cordeta, and more plus interludes from Portland standouts Vursatyl, Illmac, and Mic Capes to bring together his latest project. Working closely with Seattle producer Jeb206, Nutz does a great job making his latest release feel like a real album, from guest appearances to skits to the song content itself.

On his latest release, Cool Nutz not only shows his lyricism remains at a high standard but he always opens the door and gives us a truly personal and dope project, inviting listeners into his thoughts and feelings as a leader in the community and artist at heart. A standout track is the introspective and deep song, “Pain” featuring long-time collaborator April Cason – paying homage to friends and family who have lost their life too soon. Production-wise Cool Nutz keeps things soulful and smooth with finely chopped samples and hard-hitting drums on every song not only featuring Jeb206 but also producers Cee Goods, Ananymoso, J. Hixson, and more.

With his solo debut release Harsh Game For The People hitting the streets in 1997, and his footprint being felt in the game years before, it’s been beautiful to see Cool Nutz grow as an artist with every release, finding a way to reinvent himself and his music while always sounding comfortable on current production.

A road warrior, Cool Nutz would spend up to over 50% of his year touring before Covid-19 canceled those plans for him and many other touring musicians, but Nutz has remained a hustler finding new outlets and ways to stay busy including his new Biscuit Boyz endeavor with Trap Kitchen, Mikey Vegaz, and FLIBOIMOE.

Leave a Reply